

## STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR

## EXHIBIT N to Emergency Order #29

## N.H. Office of Professional Licensure and Certification, July 29, 2020

Pursuant to Emergency Order #29, which authorizes temporary modification of executive branch deadlines and other requirements, issued pursuant to Section 18 of Executive Order 2020-04 as modified and extended by Emergency Orders 2020-05, 2020-08, 2020-09, 2020-10, 2020-14, and 2020-15, the following is hereby ordered:

- 1. Certain Professional Examination Requirements for Licensure Waived. Several professions require, as a condition for licensure, that applicants take and pass an examination administered by a non-governmental organization, such as a national or regional credentialing body or testing facility. Several of these credentialing bodies and testing facilities are currently not administering examinations due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Unless prohibited by federal law or regulation, if an examination is not available, all applicants for licensure in professions regulated by Executive Director of the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification ("OPLC") or by a board, council, or commission administered by the OPLC shall be issued a temporary license without taking the required examination, under the following conditions:
  - a. The applicant must meet all other requirements for licensure under New Hampshire laws and rules;
  - b. The temporary license shall expire automatically the earlier of: 90 days past the expiration or termination of the State of Emergency, or 45 days after the required examination first becomes available;
  - c. The temporary license issued under this provision shall be converted to a full license if the board, council, or commission, receives evidence that the applicant has passed the required examination within 45 days after the examination first becomes available; and
  - d. If an applicant is unable to take the required examination with 45 days after it becomes available due to circumstances beyond their control, the applicant may petition the relevant board, council, or commission for a waiver of the 45 day deadline under (c) above. The petition shall include the reason the applicant was unable to take the examination, the anticipated length of time the waiver will be needed, and evidence that the waiver, if granted, will not adversely affect the health or safety of the public. The board, council, or commission shall grant a request for a waiver upon a finding of good cause.
- 2. The administrative rules of the New Hampshire Board of Dental Examiners currently require applicants for licensure as a dentist or dental hygienist pass an examination that includes clinical procedure components performed on a patient. As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, many previously qualifying examinations no longer include performing clinical

procedure components on patients. Accordingly, the requirements in administrative rule are amended as follows: notwithstanding the definition of "clinical" in administrative rule Den 101.06, all applicants for licensure as a dentist or dental hygienist may complete the clinical procedure examination requirements mandated by Den 301.01(a)(8)(b) or Den 301.02(a)(8)(b) on either a live patient or on a mannequin. This amendment shall be in effect until December 31, 2020 or the State of Emergency expires or is terminated, whichever occurs first.

3. The provisions of this exhibit are in addition to and do not supplant any specific emergency provisions issued in Emergency Order #29, Exhibit H.

Given under my hand and seal at the Executive Chambers in Concord, this 29th day of July, in the year of Our Lord, two thousand and twenty, and the independence of the United States of America, two hundred and forty-four.

GOVERNOR OF NEW HAMPSHIRE