The State of New Hampshire By His Excellency Christopher T. Sununu, Governor

A PROCLAMATION

In the year of our Lord Two Thousand and Seventeen

New Hampshire State Library Year

WHEREAS, The New Hampshire State Library is celebrating the 300th anniversary of its founding this year; and

WHEREAS, The New Hampshire State Library is the first institution of its kind in the country, having been established on January 25, 1717 – before New Hampshire was a state or the United States was a country – with the express purpose of making copies of law books available "for the use of the Governor and Council and the House of Representatives;" and

WHEREAS, Libraries have been established in every community in the state, and the New Hampshire State Library serves as the central institution for our robust library community, providing outstanding support to librarians and helping them, in turn, provide exemplary services to their patrons; and

WHEREAS, Libraries across New Hampshire, including the State Library, continue to serve the people of New Hampshire in ways that our founders never could have imagined.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, CHRISTOPHER T. SUNUNU, GOVERNOR of the State of New Hampshire, do hereby proclaim **2017** as **NEW HAMPSHIRE STATE LIBRARY YEAR** in the State of New Hampshire and ask all citizens, libraries, schools, businesses, and organizations to observe the year with appropriate activities and events in celebration of not only the New Hampshire State Library but also of all libraries throughout the Granite State, acknowledging our longstanding tradition of the vital importance of libraries in our communities.

Given this 18th day of January, in the year of Our Lord two thousand and seventeen, and the independence of the United States of America, two hundred and forty-one.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the Seal of the State of New Hampshire to be affixed this 18th day of January, 2017.

Christopher T. Sununu Governor
Councilor Joseph D. Kenney, District 1
Councilor Andru Volinsky, District 2
Councilor Russell E. Prescott, District 3
Councilor Christopher C. Pappas, District 4
Councilor David K. Wheeler, District 5