## Commission on Law Enforcement Accountability, Community and Transparency

## Meeting Minutes for August 31, 2020

Meeting held via videoconference at the Attorney General's Office in Concord, NH.

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young called the meeting to order at 9:33 a.m. and reminded participants that the meeting was being recorded.

Members were then asked to introduce themselves and state their present location for the record.

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young - from the Department of Justice with Kim Schmidt, Annie Gagne, and Nicole Clay Robert Quinn, DOS Commissioner - Concord, NH Ahni Malachi, Executive Director, NH Commission for Human Rights - Penacook, NH John Scippa, Director of Police Standards and Training Council – Haverhill, MA Rogers Johnson, Chair of the Governor's Advisory Council on Diversity and Inclusion -Stratham. NH James McKim, President of NH NAACP - Goffstown, NH Sawako Gardner, Justice of the NH Circuit Court - Dover, NH Mark Morrison, New Hampshire Police Association - Londonderry PD Charlie Dennis, NH Chief Association – Hanover, NH Ken Norton, Executive Director of NAMI – Penacook, NH Joseph Lascaze, NH ACLU representative – Ipswich, MA Julian Jefferson, Criminal Defense Representative - Manchester, NH Ronelle Tshiela, public member and BLM organizer – Durham, NH Eddie Edwards, public member – Dover, NH

The Deputy Attorney General noted the August 27<sup>th</sup>, 2020 minutes needed an amendment to reflect the section that "a motion to adopt recommendation 17" should say "a motion to vote." Deputy Young made the motion to amend the minutes on August 27<sup>th</sup>, 2020, seconded by Director Malachi. A roll call vote was taken on the motion and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young –Y Commissioner Robert Quinn – Y Director Ahni Malachi – Y Director John Scippa – Y Chairman Rogers Johnson – Y President James McKim – Y Justice Sawako Gardner – Y Lt. Mark Morrison – Y Chief Charlie Dennis – abstain Director Ken Norton – Y Mr. Joseph Lascaze – Y Attorney Julian Jefferson – Y Mr. Eddie Edwards – Y Ms. Ronelle Tshiela – Y

The Deputy Attorney General requested the approval of the August 28<sup>th</sup>, 2020 minutes. A motion to approve the minutes was made by Director Malachi, however Chief Dennis noted several changes that needed to be made. Deputy Young noted we would review these during break and vote on the minutes later in the meeting.

The Commission began discussions and revisions on the final recommendations of the Committee. Please refer to the official video and transcript for detailed information.

The Deputy Attorney General requested a motion to accept the edits as written. Commission Quinn moved to accept the edits as written, seconded by Lt. Morrison. A roll call vote was taken on the motion to adjourn and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young – Y Commissioner Robert Quinn – Y Director Ahni Malachi – Y Director John Scippa – Y Chairman Rogers Johnson – Y President James McKim – Y Justice Sawako Gardner – absent Lt. Mark Morrison – Y Chief Charlie Dennis – Y Director Ken Norton – Y Mr. Joseph Lascaze – Y Attorney Julian Jefferson – absent Mr. Eddie Edwards – Y Ms. Ronelle Tshiela – Y

Motion carries. The Commission took a 30 minute break to make the approved edits.