## Commission on Law Enforcement Accountability, Community and Transparency

## **Meeting Minutes for August 25, 2020**

Meeting held via videoconference at the Attorney General's Office in Concord, NH.

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young called the meeting to order at 9:33 a.m. and reminded participants that the meeting was being recorded.

Members were then asked to introduce themselves and state their present location for the record.

**Deputy Attorney General Jane Young** - from the Department of Justice with Kim Schmidt, Annie Gagne, and Nicole Clay

Robert Quinn, DOS Commissioner - Concord, NH

Ahni Malachi, Executive Director, NH Commission for Human Rights – Penacook, NH

John Scippa, Director of Police Standards and Training Council – Exeter, NH

Rogers Johnson, Chair of the Governor's Advisory Council on Diversity and Inclusion – Stratham, NH

James McKim, President of NH NAACP - Goffstown, NH

Sawako Gardner, Justice of the NH Circuit Court – Dover, NH

Mark Morrison, New Hampshire Police Association – Londonderry PD

Charlie Dennis, NH Chief Association – Hanover, NH

Ken Norton, Executive Director of NAMI – Tilton, NH

Joseph Lascaze, NH ACLU representative – Bedford, NH

Julian Jefferson, Criminal Defense Representative – Manchester, NH

Ronelle Tshiela, public member and BLM organizer – Durham, NH

Eddie Edwards, public member – Charlotte, NC

The Deputy Attorney General requested the approval of the August 18<sup>th</sup>, 2020 minutes and August 19<sup>th</sup>, 2020. A motion to approve was made by Ken Norton, and seconded by Lt. Morrison. A roll call vote was taken and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young -Y
Commissioner Robert Quinn - Y
Director Ahni Malachi - abstain
Director John Scippa - abstain
Chairman Rogers Johnson - Y
President James McKim - Y
Justice Sawako Gardner - absent
Lt. Mark Morrison - Y
Chief Charlie Dennis - Y

Director Ken Norton – Y Mr. Joseph Lascaze – Y Attorney Julian Jefferson – Y Mr. Eddie Edwards – Y Ms. Ronelle Tshiela – Y (18<sup>th</sup>), abstain (19<sup>th</sup>)

The Deputy Attorney General covered the order of business today which will be section three of our report on police misconduct.

## Narrative section reviewed for approval

Ken Norton moves to accept narrative section as written, seconded by Joseph Lascaze. A roll call vote was taken and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young -Y
Commissioner Robert Quinn - Y
Director Ahni Malachi - Y
Director John Scippa - absent
Chairman Rogers Johnson - Y
President James McKim - abstain
Justice Sawako Gardner - absent
Lt. Mark Morrison - Y
Chief Charlie Dennis - Y
Director Ken Norton - Y
Mr. Joseph Lascaze - Y
Attorney Julian Jefferson - Y
Mr. Eddie Edwards - Y
Ms. Ronelle Tshiela - Y

Commission members began their discussions on the Police Misconduct recommendations. Please refer to official transcript and meeting video for detailed conversations.

Refer to finalized Section 3, Recommendation 1, Subsections A through K.

Rogers Johnson moves to adopt recommendation 1, seconded by Ken Norton. A roll call vote was taken and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young –Y
Commissioner Robert Quinn – Y
Director Ahni Malachi – Y
Director John Scippa – Y
Chairman Rogers Johnson – Y
President James McKim – Y

Justice Sawako Gardner – Y
Lt. Mark Morrison – Y
Chief Charlie Dennis – abstain
Director Ken Norton – Y
Mr. Joseph Lascaze – Y
Attorney Julian Jefferson – Y
Mr. Eddie Edwards – Y
Ms. Ronelle Tshiela – Y

Recommendation 1 adopted.

Refer to finalized Section 3, Recommendation 2.

Director Scippa moves to adopt recommendation 2, seconded by Chief Dennis. A roll call vote was taken and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young -Y
Commissioner Robert Quinn - Y
Director Ahni Malachi - Y
Director John Scippa - Y
Chairman Rogers Johnson - Y
President James McKim - Y
Justice Sawako Gardner - Y
Lt. Mark Morrison - Y
Chief Charlie Dennis - Y
Director Ken Norton - Y
Mr. Joseph Lascaze - Y
Attorney Julian Jefferson - Y
Mr. Eddie Edwards - Y
Ms. Ronelle Tshiela - Y

Recommendation 2 adopted.

Refer to finalized Section 3, Recommendation 3, Subsections A through D.

Director Scippa moves to adopt recommendation 3, seconded by Joseph Lascaze. A roll call vote was taken and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young -Y
Commissioner Robert Quinn - Y
Director Ahni Malachi - Y
Director John Scippa - Y
Chairman Rogers Johnson - Y

President James McKim - Y

Justice Sawako Gardner - Y

Lt. Mark Morrison – Y

Chief Charlie Dennis - Y

Director Ken Norton - Y

Mr. Joseph Lascaze – Y

Attorney Julian Jefferson - Y

Mr. Eddie Edwards – Y

Ms. Ronelle Tshiela – Y

Recommendation 3, Subsections A through D adopted.

Refer to finalized Section 3, Recommendation 4.

Director Scippa moves to adopt recommendation 4, seconded by Director Malachi. A roll call vote was taken and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young -Y

Commissioner Robert Quinn - Y

Director Ahni Malachi - Y

Director John Scippa – Y

Chairman Rogers Johnson – Y

President James McKim - Y

Justice Sawako Gardner – Y

Lt. Mark Morrison - Y

Chief Charlie Dennis – Y

Director Ken Norton - Y

Mr. Joseph Lascaze – Y

Attorney Julian Jefferson – Y

Mr. Eddie Edwards – Y

Ms. Ronelle Tshiela – Y

Recommendation 4 adopted.

Refer to finalized Section 3, Recommendation 5, Subsection A through F.

Director Malachi moves to table recommendation 5, seconded by Director Scippa. A roll call vote was taken and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young –Y Commissioner Robert Quinn – Y

Director Ahni Malachi - Y

Director John Scippa – Y

Chairman Rogers Johnson – Y
President James McKim – absent
Justice Sawako Gardner – Y
Lt. Mark Morrison – Y
Chief Charlie Dennis – Y
Director Ken Norton – N
Mr. Joseph Lascaze – Y
Attorney Julian Jefferson – N
Mr. Eddie Edwards – Y
Ms. Ronelle Tshiela – Y

Recommendation 5, Subsection A through F has been tabled. [Number will be changed]

Refer to finalized Section 3, Recommendation 5.

Eddie Edwards moves to remove this recommendation, seconded by Chief Dennis. The Commission chose to adjourn for the day to allow for revisions on this recommendation prior to taking a vote.

The Commission will continue reviewing the police misconduct recommendations tomorrow.

The Deputy Attorney General requested a motion to adjourn. So moved by Mr. Joseph Lascaze and seconded by Director Malachi. A roll call vote was taken on the motion to adjourn and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young – Y
Commissioner Robert Quinn – Y
Director Ahni Malachi – Y
Director John Scippa – Y
Chairman Rogers Johnson – Y
President James McKim – absent
Justice Sawako Gardner – Y
Lt. Mark Morrison – Y
Chief Charlie Dennis – Y
Director Ken Norton – Y
Mr. Joseph Lascaze – Y
Attorney Julian Jefferson – Y
Mr. Eddie Edwards – Y
Ms. Ronelle Tshiela – Y

The meeting was adjourned at 1:30 p.m.