Commission on Law Enforcement Accountability, Community and Transparency

Meeting Minutes for August 13, 2020

Meeting held via videoconference at the Attorney General's Office in Concord, NH.

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young called the meeting to order at 9:39 a.m. and reminded participants that the meeting was being recorded.

Members were then asked to introduce themselves and state their present location for the record.

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young - from the Department of Justice with Kim Schmidt, Annie Gagne, and Nicole Clay

Robert Quinn, DOS Commissioner - Concord, NH

Ahni Malachi, Executive Director, NH Commission for Human Rights – Penacook, NH

John Scippa, Director of Police Standards and Training Council – Exeter, NH

Rogers Johnson, Chair of the Governor's Advisory Council on Diversity and Inclusion – Stratham, NH

James McKim, President of NH NAACP – Manchester, NH

Sawako Gardner, Justice of the NH Circuit Court – Greenwich, CT

Mark Morrison, New Hampshire Police Association – Londonderry PD

Charlie Dennis, NH Chief Association – absent

Ken Norton, Executive Director of NAMI – Great Cranberry Island, ME

Joseph Lascaze, NH ACLU representative – Ipswich, MA

Julian Jefferson, Criminal Defense Representative – Manchester, NH

Ronelle Tshiela, public member and BLM organizer – Durham, NH

Eddie Edwards, public member – Dover, NH

The Deputy Attorney General requested the approval of the August 13th, 2020 minutes. Eddie Edwards moved to adopt the minutes, James McKim seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young –Y Commissioner Robert Quinn - Y Director Ahni Malachi - Y

Director John Scippa – Y

Chairman Rogers Johnson – Y

President James McKim – Y

Justice Sawako Gardner - Y

Lt. Mark Morrison – Y

Chief Charlie Dennis – absent

Director Ken Norton – Y Mr. Joseph Lascaze – Y Attorney Julian Jefferson – Y Mr. Eddie Edwards – Y Ms. Ronelle Tshiela – Y

Motion carries.

Commission members continued their discussions of the Community Relations recommendations from yesterday's meeting.

Refer to the finalized Section C, Number 4, Subsections 14 and 15.

Director Ahni Malachi made a motion approve the above referenced section. Judge Gardner seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young –
Commissioner Robert Quinn – Y
Director Ahni Malachi – Y
Director John Scippa – N
Chairman Rogers Johnson – Y
President James McKim – Y
Justice Sawako Gardner – Y
Lt. Mark Morrison – Y
Chief Charlie Dennis – absent
Director Ken Norton – N
Mr. Joseph Lascaze – N
Attorney Julian Jefferson – N
Mr. Eddie Edwards – Y
Ms. Ronelle Tshiela – N

Motion tabled.

Refer to the finalized Section C, Number 5, Subsection 16 and 17.

Lt. Morrison made a motion approve the above referenced section. Judge Gardner seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young – Y Commissioner Robert Quinn – Y Director Ahni Malachi – Y Director John Scippa – Y Chairman Rogers Johnson – Y President James McKim – absent Justice Sawako Gardner – Y

Lt. Mark Morrison - Y

Chief Charlie Dennis – absent

Director Ken Norton - Y

Mr. Joseph Lascaze – Y

Attorney Julian Jefferson – Y

Mr. Eddie Edwards – Y

Ms. Ronelle Tshiela – Y

Motion carries.

Refer to the finalized Section C, Number 6, Subsection 18.

Joseph Lascaze made a motion approve the above referenced section. Eddie Edwards seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young - Y

Commissioner Robert Quinn - Y

Director Ahni Malachi - Y

Director John Scippa – Y

Chairman Rogers Johnson – Y

President James McKim – absent

Justice Sawako Gardner – Y

Lt. Mark Morrison - Y

Chief Charlie Dennis – absent

Director Ken Norton - Y

Mr. Joseph Lascaze – Y

Attorney Julian Jefferson - Y

Mr. Eddie Edwards – Y

Ms. Ronelle Tshiela – Y

Motion carries.

Refer to the finalized Section C, Number 6, Subsection 19.

Commissioner Quinn made a motion approve the above referenced section. Joseph Lascaze seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young – Y Commissioner Robert Quinn – Y Director Ahni Malachi – Y Director John Scippa – Y Chairman Rogers Johnson – Y
President James McKim – absent
Justice Sawako Gardner – Y
Lt. Mark Morrison – Y
Chief Charlie Dennis – absent
Director Ken Norton – Y
Mr. Joseph Lascaze – Y
Attorney Julian Jefferson – Y
Mr. Eddie Edwards – Y
Ms. Ronelle Tshiela – Y

Motion carries.

Refer to the finalized Section C, Number 6, Subsection 20.

Attorney Julian Jefferson made a motion approve the above referenced section. Eddie Edwards seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young – Y
Commissioner Robert Quinn – Y
Director Ahni Malachi – Y
Director John Scippa – Y
Chairman Rogers Johnson – Y
President James McKim – absent
Justice Sawako Gardner – Y
Lt. Mark Morrison – Y
Chief Charlie Dennis – absent
Director Ken Norton – Y
Mr. Joseph Lascaze – Y
Attorney Julian Jefferson – Y
Mr. Eddie Edwards – Y
Ms. Ronelle Tshiela – Y

Motion carries.

Numerous schools in New Hampshire have a School Resource Officer (SRO) embedded in the day-to-day activities of the school. Currently, in New Hampshire, there are no mandated classroom or field training programs for an officer to become an SRO. As with individual communities, each school that has an SRO also has unique needs and goals for working with that SRO.

Eddie Edwards made a motion approve the above referenced language in the narrative section. Director John Scippa seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young – Y
Commissioner Robert Quinn – Y
Director Ahni Malachi – Y
Director John Scippa – Y
Chairman Rogers Johnson – Y
President James McKim – absent
Justice Sawako Gardner – Y
Lt. Mark Morrison – Y
Chief Charlie Dennis – absent
Director Ken Norton – Y
Mr. Joseph Lascaze – Y
Attorney Julian Jefferson – Y
Mr. Eddie Edwards – Y
Ms. Ronelle Tshiela – Y

Motion carries.

The Deputy Attorney General noted that tomorrow we would have a presentation by Director John Scippa regarding decertification, then Robin Melone with public testimony.

The Deputy Attorney General requested a motion to adjourn. So moved by Mr. Joseph Lascaze and seconded by Director Ahni Malachi. A roll call vote was taken on the motion to adjourn and the votes were recorded as follows:

Deputy Attorney General Jane Young – Y
Commissioner Robert Quinn – Y
Director Ahni Malachi – Y
Director John Scippa – Y
Chairman Rogers Johnson – Y
President James McKim – absent
Justice Sawako Gardner – Y
Lt. Mark Morrison – Y
Chief Charlie Dennis – absent
Director Ken Norton – Y
Mr. Joseph Lascaze – Y
Attorney Julian Jefferson – Y
Mr. Eddie Edwards – Y
Ms. Ronelle Tshiela – Y

The meeting was adjourned at 12:33 p.m.