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Alabama Yes 520 hours Yes
 12 hours-annually; 20 hours-annually (chiefs or 
acting chiefs-municipal only)

Alaska Yes 400 hours No N/A

Arizona Yes 585 hours Yes 8 hours-annually

Arkansas Yes 480 hours Yes 16 hours-annually

California Yes 664 hours Yes 24 hours-2 two years

Colorado Yes 560 hours N/A N/A

Connecticut Yes 880 hours Yes 60 hours over 3 year

Delaware Yes 568 hours Yes 32 hours-annually, with 16 being topic specific

Florida Yes 770 hours Yes 40 hours-every 4 years

Georgia Yes 408 hours Yes 20 hours-annually

Hawaii Yes 1,040 hours Yes 24 hours - annually on-line

Idaho Yes 10 weeks Yes 40 hours every 2 years (average 20 hrs/year)

Illinois Yes 480 hours

Yes, Chiefs 
and Sheriffs 
mandated only

Chiefs and Sheriffs mandated 20-hours only; no 
mandatory training for everyone else

Indiana Yes 600 hours Yes 24 hours-annually

Iowa Yes 587 hours Yes 12 hours-annually

Kansas Yes 560 hours Yes 40 hours-annually

Kentucky Yes 888 hours Yes 40 hours-annually

Louisiana Yes 360 hours Yes 20 hours-annually

Maine Yes 720 hours Yes 40 hours over a 2 year period

Maryland Yes 750 hours Yes 20 + hours-annually

Massachusetts Yes 832 hours Yes 40 hours-annually

Michigan Yes 594 hours Yes No hours specified, just areas of concentration

Minnesota No

Associate of Arts Degree 
in Minnesota Law 
Enforcement with 
additional certification 
requirements Yes 48 hours required during each 3 year cycle

Mississippi Yes 480 hours Yes 24 hours-annually (municipal officers only)

Missouri Yes 600 hours Yes 48 hours every 3 years

IADLEST Basic In-Service Survey 

of the 50 States (4-20-2015) 
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Montana Yes 480 hours No N/A

Nebraska Yes 644-hours Yes 20 hours-annually

Nevada Yes 480-hours Yes 12 hours-annually

New Hampshire Yes
16 wks, residing on-site 
M-F Yes

12 hours - annually (8 hrs + 4 on Use of Force + 
Firearms Requalification)

New Jersey Yes

No set time. Just have to 
follow and finish a set 
curriculum In-Service falls under Attorney General's office

New Mexico Yes 657-hours Yes 40 hours every 2 years

New York Yes 649-hours No N/A

North Carolina Yes 620-hours Yes 24 hours-annually 

North Dakota Yes 480-hours Yes 60 hours over 3 year

Ohio Yes 605-hours Yes Determined yearly-4 hours for 2014

Oklahoma Yes 584-hours Yes 25 hours-annually

Oregon Yes 640-hours Yes 84 hours every 3 years (averages to 24 hrs/yr)

Pennsylvania Yes 750-hours Yes 12 hours-annually

Rhode Island Yes 950-hours No Not required 

South Carolina Yes 531.25-hours Yes 40 hours-every 3 years

South Dakota Yes 520-hours Yes 40 hours-every 2 years

Tennessee Yes 400-hours Yes 40 hours-annually

Texas Yes 643-hours Yes 40 hours-every 2 years

Utah Yes 582-hours Yes 40 hours-annually

Vermont Yes 860-hours Yes
full-time 25 hours-annually; part-time 30 hours-
annually

Virginia Yes 580-hours Yes 40 hours-every 2 years

Washington Yes 720-hours Yes 24 hours-annually

West Virginia Yes 835-hours Yes 16 hours-annually

Wisconsin Yes 520-hours Yes 24 hours-annually

Wyoming Yes 542-hours Yes 40 hours-every 2 years
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