

CHRISTOPHER T. SUNUNU Governor Governor's Advisory Council on Diversity and Inclusion March 8, 2018 New Hampshire Executive Council Chambers Concord, New Hampshire

MINUTES

Board Members

Members Present: Rogers Johnson, Commissioner John Barthelmes Devon Chaffee, Frank Edelblut, Sharon Harris (phone), Elizabeth Lahey, James Maggiore, Commissioner Ken Merrifield, Dr. Salman Malik, Dottie Morris, Commissioner Jeffrey Meyers, Pawn Nitichan (phone), Marianne Rechy, Allyson Ryder, Andrew Smith, Chief Douglas Wyman

Absent: Sheriff Eliezer Rivera

Quorum: Yes

Others Present: Dr. Trinidad Tellez

Proceedings

Meeting called to order at 5:49 p.m. by Rogers Johnson, Chair.

Review of draft minutes from February 8, 2018 meeting: Members proposed correcting spelling of Dottie Morris's name and adding Rogers Johnson and Pawn Nitichan to listed members of listening-group subcommittee. Members accepted the proposed change and adopted the revised minutes unanimously.

Mission and vision – Pawn Nitichan and Marianne Rechy presented revisions to mission and vision statement. The group also discussed the need to define "diversity" and "inclusion," as those terms are central to the council's charge, yet are not defined in the executive order. The group also discussed defining "fairness" and "equity." The working group will draft definitions and present them at the next meeting.

Bylaws: Elizabeth Lahey presented the draft bylaws. The group discussed and proposed revisions. Elizabeth Lahey will make the proposed revisions and present the bylaws for a vote at the next council meeting.

UNH Listening Session: Devon Chaffee and Allyson Ryder presented proposed format ideas for the council-lead listening sessions on behalf of the subcommittee.

Rogers Johnson, Chair Commissioner John Barthelmes Devon Chaffee Commissioner Frank Edelblut Sharon Harris Elizabeth Lahey James Maggiore Dr. Salman Malik Commissioner Ken Merrifield Commissioner Jeff Meyers Dottie Morris Pawn Nitichan Marianne Rechy Sheriff Eliezer Rivera Allyson Ryder Andrew Smith Chief Douglas Wyman

Andrew Smith emphasized the importance of making sure that the council stays engaged in communities after the initial listening sessions. Council members agreed, and discussed ways to remain engaged following the sessions, including through potential follow-up sessions and assigning members to serve as liaisons to specific communities.

Devon Chaffee and Allyson Ryder also proposed and the council approved 16-0 the following listening-session schedule:

Durham – Week of March 19 Seacoast – Week of April 9 Sugar River Valley – Week of April 30 Nashua - Week of June 11

Additional sessions in Concord, Manchester, Laconia, Monadnock Region, Upper Valley, North County, Mt. Washington Valley

The working group comprised of Devon Chaffee, Allyson Ryder, Sharon Harris, Dottie Morris, Rogers Johnson, and Pawn Nitichan will continue to develop these listening sessions.

Meeting adjourned at 7:34 p.m.

Next meeting: April 19, 2018 at 5:30 p.m. at the New Hampshire Executive Council Chambers

Minutes submitted by:

/s/ Elizabeth A. Lahey Elizabeth A. Lahey

Date: April 19, 2018