For Immediate Release
Posted: May 08, 2024


Communications Director
6032712121 |

Governor Chris Sununu Thanks Legislators, Makes Request to Fiscal Committee

Concord, NH – Today, Governor Chris Sununu announced that he will request members of the Fiscal Committee authorize $3,341,299 in additional funding to five New Hampshire Community Development Finance Authority (CDFA) Community Centers and thanked lawmakers for their advocacy on behalf of these funds.

“Thanks to the relentless advocacy of these legislators, I've requested transformative grants that will unlock incredible opportunity for community centers across New Hampshire," said Governor Chris Sununu. “I can’t thank these legislators enough for going to bat for their communities!”

Members of the Fiscal Committee are anticipated to consider the Governor’s request on Friday, May 17.

This round of funds serves to complete all pending applications under the existing Community Center Investment Program. Under the first two rounds of applications, an initial allocation of $20 Million was made.

In the first round of funding, sixteen nonprofits and municipalities were awarded $11.5 Million to support the enhancement of indoor and outdoor facilities and construct new public spaces with the purpose of fostering a culture of health and wellbeing. In the second round of funding, CDFA funded six additional community center requests. This third round of funding will increase total allocations of ARPA Funds to $23,231,000 and allow CDFA to fund the next five highest scoring applicants’ proposals.

The Governor’s request to members of the Fiscal Committee includes grants to the following community centers:

  • Barrington Community Center: $1,000,000
  • Harrisville St. Denis Community Center: $779,635
  • Hinsdale Millstream Community Center: $224,852
  • Littleton Community Center: $336,812.50
  • Newport Community Center: $1,000,000

The following legislators met with Governor Sununu on Tuesday to advocate for their communities:

  • Representative Margaret Drye (Sullivan – District 7, Newport Community Center)
  • Representative Michael Harrington (Strafford – District 18, Barrington Community Center)
  • Representative David Rochefort (Grafton – District 1, Littleton Community Center)
  • Representative Skip Rollins (Sullivan – District 3, Newport Community Center)
  • Representative Matthew Simon (Grafton – District 1, Littleton Community Center)
  • Representative Steven Smith (Sullivan – District 3, Newport Community Center)
  • Representative Walter Spilsbury (Sullivan – District 3, Newport Community Center)
  • Representative Len Turcotte (Strafford – District 4, Barrington Community Center)
  • Senator Ruth Ward (District 8, Newport Community Center)