Skip to main content
scroll to top
For Immediate Release
February 18, 2020


Communications Director
(603) 271-2121 | [email protected]

Governor Chris Sununu Elected State Co-Chair of Northern Border Regional Commission

Concord, NH – The Northern Border Regional Commission (NBRC) has announced that New Hampshire Governor Chris Sununu has been elected to serve as the Commission's second ever State Co-Chair. Governor Sununu succeeds Vermont Governor Phil Scott, the Commission's first State Co-Chair, who ended his two-year term in January 2020.

The recently established State Co-Chair, together with the Federally appointed Federal Co-Chair, leads the NBRC on matters of policy and strategy, and sets direction for the NBRC staff.

"I would like to thank Governor Scott for his hard work and leadership over the last two years," said Governor Chris Sununu. "The NBRC has helped stimulate local economies not only in New Hampshire but all across the Northern Border region. I am honored and look forward to continuing this important work, improving the grant program, and identifying new opportunities for the Commission to help local communities grow and thrive across New Hampshire and New England."

"I am excited to get to work with Governor Sununu," said NBRC Federal Co-Chair Harold Parker. "Governor Sununu has a passion and track-record for getting things done, and will help us find creative and innovative ways to help rural cities and towns across the region. With his working knowledge of the issues and challenges faced by workers and towns in the rural economy, Governor Sununu will help lead this critical commission to new heights."

Governor Sununu will serve a two-year term as NBRC co-chair.

Created in the 2008 Farm Bill, NBRC is a federal-state partnership with a mission to help alleviate economic distress and encourage private-sector job creation in New Hampshire, Maine, Vermont, and New York.

Since its inception, the Commission has awarded more than $55 million in grants, which have leveraged more than $142 million to support 248 grants across the four states. New Hampshire's NBRC territories include cities and towns in Belknap, Carroll, Cheshire, Coos, Grafton, and Sullivan counties.